The Harriers

Meet the Team:

Itay Miednik

I’m 12 years old and I live in Holon. I started getting interested in birds when I was 5 years old when I joined a birding group in school. My favorite place for birdwatching is the fields of kibbutz Nitzanim where my family is from. My favorite bird is the White tailed Eagle. Other interesting birds that I’ve managed to see already are: Barnacle Goose, Demoiselle Crane and Cinereous Vulture.

Eitan Shahar

My name is Eitan Shahar, I’m 12 years old. I was born in a small village by the Mediterranean Sea, called Mikhmoret and have been living there ever since. As a child I used to spend a lot of time wandering and playing at the beach with my family. I was always curious About nature and animals. Today I’m a six grade student at a Waldorf elementary school in Emeq Hefer. In my spare time I like drawing, playing the piano, snorkeling at our beautiful beach and wandering around the area. I recently joined Ofeq Kirshenbaum’s group and every week we go out to explore and learn nature.

Mika Segal

My name is Mika Segal and I’m 12 years old. I live in Moshav Hanniel – a village in Emek Hefer. Since I was born I’ve loved nature and especially animals, I have a dog and a cat that I take care of them. Sometimes I find wounded animals like a cat or a young bird and I try to help them by giving shelter and feeding them or finding a good home for them.
I want to find a way to build a bridge or a tunnel over the road near to my village that will let the wild animals pass safely and not get hit by cars.
I love birds and reptiles and learning a lot about them with Ofek’s group that I joined last year.

Elia Kardo

My name is Elia, I am 12 years old, I live in Avichail in Emek Hefer and I study in Ofek’s school ,an Antroposofic school. Since my childhood I love going out and research animals and plants around my house (“Avichil reserve”) the reserve is full of dunes and plants and stretches to the beach. In school, we often go outside to learn about the nature and the animals. A few months ago I joined Ofek Kirshenbaum’s nature group activity in Emek Hefer. Ofek teaches us to identify reptiles and birds. We hike, investigate and learn about the nature. I really like this activity. And I really like to skate on my skateboard…
Ofek Kirshenbaum

Ofek Kirshenbaum

My name is Ofek, I am 21 years old and I live in Mikhmoret. Since the age of three I have enjoyed being in nature. As far back as I remember my father would take me on nature trails looking for birds, animals and flowers. When I was in fifth grade I attended the Man and Environment School at Kibbutz Gaash and there I joined the birdwatching group of Hadas Katz. We would travel around the country and ring birds. Today I work at the Mevoot Yam school and I mentor pupils in the junior high school. After school hours I lead groups of children from junior school in nature activities.

Hadass Katz Sade Chen

The birds entered my head, my heart, my soul, and my schedule during my studies at the Ohalo Seminar following an encounter with Michal – a teacher of life who lectured there, and an amazing encounter with Shalom Zu Aretz and Yossi Eshbol.
Since then I’m trying to convert the religion of everyone you meet in the field of education in which I’m working.
I’m raising “chicks”, do not leave the “fledglings” and take care of “adults.”
I am proud to learn with them and from them!